by Maggie Velasquez-Choi 

Andy’s Schedule

   Most of you readers are probably way ahead of me in the experience of raising children. You’ve been there, done that, but just in case you forgot, let me refresh your memory. Below is my schedule for the “proper feeding and caring of 11-month-old Andrew”. I give my permission to have this schedule used in the school’s sex-education class as another deterrent to pregnancy. If you’re not married with a husband or wife who will support you emotionally (you’ll need somebody to talk to besides a baby) and financially (who’ll pay for everything while you’re home taking care of him?) or if you don’t have enough money to pay for somebody else to put as much time and love into the care of your child or if you don’t want to give up 90% of your free time then you’d better not have a baby.When Andrew cries I tell him “you have no reason to cry.

Click here for top of the page.

You are well-loved and are provided with all your physical, emotional and spiritual needs.” I sometimes feel sorry for myself because I remember my previous years of freedom, energy and health, but humans have been doing this for millennia and in much poorer conditions. My own mother, I still can’t fathom how she did it in Mexico. With no running water in the house, the trips she made to the lake to wash clothes, to the town well for drinking and cooking water, with kids in tow or in arms and another on the way (seven kids total). She chopped wood and got the beans and corn straight from the field to the pot. I remember helping hold down the chicken while she chopped it’s head off, then watching the headless chicken run around the yard, even jumping over logs at the right time, until finally laying down to die. The only “machine” we had was a kerosene stove and a kerosene lamp. I know, many Americans also lived this way during the depression years. My parents and the depression-era people don’t take things for granted from what I can see. Mom is always praising God for leftovers, pocket-money and her family.

Well, since I don’t do much running around anymore, this is about the most culture I get during my typical day:

  • 4:00 a.m. Andy wakes up. I change his diaper and give him a bottle
  • 7:00  Andy wakes up.  I change his diaper again and let him play while I clean the bedroom, then we go to the computer room to work on our abc’s, exercise to music and read a book.
  • 8:30  Andy eats breakfast
  • 9:00  I eat breakfast then wash dishes and start cleaning the house
  • 10:00 I change Andy’s diaper again and feed him his bottle of milk in the rocking chair in the sunny patio
  • 10:30  Andy naps for an hour
  • 11: 00  I run to the kitchen to make lunch for Andy.  Sometimes my mother-in-law makes it.
  • 12:00 I eat a little bread or banana because I need to feed Andy lunch but I won’t be able to eat until after I feed him and I tend to get low blood sugar.
  • 12:30 p.m. I change Andy’s diaper and he eats (usually a homemade rice and veggie porridge, plus two Gerber foods (a meat and veggies and a fruit). 
  • 1:00 I eat, wash dishes and clean the kitchen
  • 1:30 Free time with Andy
  • 2:30 Feed Andy milk
  • 3:00 Change diaper and give Andy a snack
  • 4:00 Naptime
  • 6:30  Change diaper and feed Andy supper
  • 8:00  Bath time
  • 8:30  Bedtime

Click here for top of the page.

Leave a Reply

