Dan Faulkner, Superintendent of Boise City Public Schools, has been named District #1 2008 Administrator of the Year by the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA). Faulkner is one of 20 administrators in Oklahoma selected for this prestigious honor,
Dr. Randall Raburn, Executive Director of OASA, has announced.

Superintendent Faulkner, along with 19 other 2008 District Administrators of the Year, will be honored at the OASA awards banquet on Wednesday, June 4 during the Annual Summer Conference hosted by the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA). The conference will be held June 4-6 at the Meridian Conference Center in Oklahoma City.

Go To Top

“We congratulate Superintendent Faulkner and the other top administrators for being selected by their colleagues for their service and accomplishments in the profession,” Dr. Raburn stated. He noted, “To be selected a district winner, these administrators are required to meet certain criteria such as high expectations of students and staff; leadership skills; contributions to their school district and profession; and an active and respected role in the community.”

Faulkner, superintendent of Boise City Public Schools for the past 4 years, has 36 years of experience in education. His previous position was four years as high school principal at Elkhart School District in Kansas from 2000-2004. From 1988-98, he served as junior high principal in Carnegie School District in Carnegie, Oklahoma. He has also taught band and music in Kansas, Carnegie and Balko, Oklahoma, and at Panhandle State University in Goodwell, OK.

The superintendent is active in several professional organizations including Cooperative Council Oklahoma School Administration, Oklahoma Association of School Administrators, and past member of the Oklahoma Music Education Association. Faulkner was recently recognized with the 2007 Olan Isbell Oklahoma Administrator of the Year Award.

Superintendent Faulkner is now eligible for the OASA 2008 Oklahoma Administrator of the Year competition. The final state winner is selected from the 20 District Administrators of the Year. The announcement and award will be presented in August during the joint conference of CCOSA and the Oklahoma State School Boards Association. The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators is under the umbrella of the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration. CCOSA is an incorporated, non-profit organization serving over 2300 superintendents, assistant superintendents, principals, and central office administrators.

Go To Top


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s