This Saturday, from 1 to 4 p.m., the Cimarron Heritage Center will host a reception in honor of the showing of photographs shot by Dusty Reins, of Amarillo, and Cimarron County’s Shelley Fowler.

The exhibit is titled “Chasing the Light in Cimarron County” and features photos taken all over the county by Reins and Fowler.

Reins is the nom de plume, of Marvin Morgenstern, of Amarillo.

By phone to the Boise City News, Morgenstern/Reins explained that he was a Mass Communications major at Texas Tech in the 1970s when he came up with the name.

“I had recently gone to work for a country radio station. I needed an on air name, and I’d been using Morgan Stern on another venue, and it didn’t work. I was going between classes, and I got hit with dust, rained on and then dusted again…I became Dusty Reins.”

Reins is a 1971 graduate of Amarillo’s Caprock High School.

“I have been doing photography since grade school, and when I got to Bowie Junior High they had a yearbook, so I joined. Later I took photography classes at Tech.”

Go To Top

Photography is Reins avocation…as Marvin Morgenstern, he works as a contractor in software in very large computing systems.

In the computer business he is self educated, having found he had a knack for the business.

He is a former IBM employee before striking out on his own. He finds work by having his resume’ posted on Monster.Com.

“Since I worked for IBM, I am familiar with their products and large environments.”

“It pays better than radio, television and newspapers,” he said.

He works for both civilian and government agencies and recently finished six months in New Orleans working for the Department of Defense and Northrup Grumman.

He has created his own software, that has begun to sell by word-of-mouth. He explains that the product helps when two companies merge and need their individual computer hardware to be able to communicate.

“It helps to integrate computer systems, so they can talk to each other, share information.”

The job also helps his photography by allowing him to travel and photograph his surroundings.

It’s the part of life I enjoy…traveling. I make good money, I’m frugal, so it allows me to travel more and photograph more.

In his travels he has once again begun to use his communications skills by recording oral histories on video and tape, for Baylor University.

” These are stories of modern relevance. It’s fascinating doing the research, reading the documents…it’s like knocking off attic dust.”

On the “Chasing the Light” exhibition, Reins said, “Photography is about light, and you always endeavor to capture any facet of light. Shelley (Cimarron county’s Shelley Fowler), and I covered all portions of the county, from dawn to dusk. It took two trips up here and we started with Black Mesa.”

“The shots are mainly landscapes and the images should be familair to the residents. My photos are more along the lines of a documentary, and not art. I have landscapes, and wildlife, lizards and horny toads, insects, hawks…nature.”

“I’m not concentrating on fine art, but eco-tourism.”

“I’m mainly shooting digital but still use some film, when I’m striving for a more professional quality.”

“Another thing I like to do is work with amateurs. I’ve been working with Shelley, and she has come on pretty strong,” Reins said.

“With her background in art, she’s going to have more artistic images,” he explained.

Reins said that he and Fowler will share the show at about 50-50, with each exhibiting about 24 to 30 individual pictures.

The pictures will be 11×14 in both black and white and color.

“The museum doesn’t have wall space to exhibit framed and matted pictures. So we’ve decided on something that looks like a clothesline, and by using cotton rope, we’ll hang the pictures with clothes pins.”

“But I’m toying with the idea of having some Hobby Lobby frames on hand.”

Each of the pictures will be for sale, at what Reins calls an average price. A portion of each sale will be returned to the Heritage Center.

“I’m from out of town, Shelley works out of town. So it will fall to the museum to make the effort. It’s only fair that a set amount goes back to the museum, so the buyer will know that dollars go back to the museum,” Reins said.

Reins and Fowler plan to have the exhibit up for about a month, unless with good fortune, it should sell out earlier.

Go To Top

Leave a Reply

